Saturday, 16 March 2013

Review: Wicked Sense by Fabio Bueno

 


Wicked Sense by Fabio Bueno
Genre: YA paranormal
Released: September 2012
Publisher: Booklings Publishing
Pages: 308
Series: Singularity #1
My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


Synopsis:

Witches inhabit our world, organized in covens and hiding behind a shroud of secrecy—the Veil.

Skye’s London coven sends her to Seattle’s Greenwood High to find the Singularity, an unusually gifted witch who may break the Veil and trigger a dangerous new era of witch-hunting. Things get complicated when Skye meets a charming new classmate, Drake. Skye’s job becomes even trickier when she clashes with Jane, an intimidating rival witch.

Drake falls for the mysterious Skye, but odd accidents, potion mix-ups, and the occasional brush with death kind of get in the way of romance. Once he discovers Skye is a witch, he goes to war for her, even though his only weapons are a nice set of abs and a sharp sense of humor.

Fighting off wicked Jane and the other dark forces hell-bent on seizing the Singularity's immense power, Skye and Drake will risk everything to save the covens.

Going on a date has never been harder.

What I liked

This book is really one of a kind. Finally something where are not vampires or werewolves included (not that I don't like them). Fabio Bueno makes magic believable, and I found it very easy to connect with characters. 
I also liked that the book was written in POVS, what is pretty rare, and it makes the book more organized. 
This book is packed with action and with twists that I wasn't really expecting. Yeah, there's definitely lot of wicked "things" going on.

What I didn't like

I don't particularly like short chapters, and that's what dominated in this book. Also I found some grammatical mistakes, but c'mon , we're all just humans, right? (I guess)
I wasn't crazy about emotional side of characters. They didn't show their feelings as much as I would expect. I lacked more dialogues or some sort of interaction with other characters which would make the story more vivid.

Overall thought

Wicked Sense is great YA read, very easy and fun. For me it was one of the best wiccan based book I've read so far. Very realistic and enthralling story. 
I'm looking forward to sequel, which I hope will as amazing as the first book (or better).


Wicked Sense (Singularity, #1)I'd like to thank to Fabio Bueno who gifted me this book for honest review.